Author Topic: Fin advice for Surtech JM Lahui Kai 14  (Read 3794 times)

steepcreek

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Fin advice for Surtech JM Lahui Kai 14
« on: June 02, 2013, 01:00:49 PM »
I'm fairly new to SUP and recently got a good deal on a Lahui Kai 14' board.  I've been paddling it in mostly calm water and light chop on the tidal Potomac near DC with good results.  Took it down to the Chesapeake Bay in 1-2 waves, cross currents etc. and had some issues staying on it.

From what I've managed to infer from reading this forum, a different fin style might help with stability.  It seems like Larry Allison's fins have a bunch of fans here, would something like the Gladiator or other model be a noticeable difference from the stock fin?  I'm not really into racing, yet at least, but do like to go fast.  I'm 5'8" 160lbs if that makes a difference.

Larry Allison

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • https://www.facebook.com/larry.w.allison
    • Email
Re: Fin advice for Surtech JM Lahui Kai 14
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2013, 03:29:32 PM »
Gladiator Hybrid would work but the Bat fin would give you a faster glide in moderate to white cap conditions with a Ninja for calm to glassy conditions.

Allison Race Fins

steepcreek

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 06:32:55 AM »
Thanks for the input.  Think I'll give the bat fin a try.  Only problem is none of the colors match my hideously pink board :)

Larry Allison

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2013, 07:04:27 AM »
Thanks for the input.  Think I'll give the bat fin a try.  Only problem is none of the colors match my hideously pink board :)

I think this look in the Bat shape would work for you my friend.
Allison Race Fins

ZooSUP

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2013, 08:03:08 AM »
How can I get my hands on a Bat fin!? Been looking for one for a while, but no such luck around here...