Author Topic: SUP fishing  (Read 48072 times)

Yohan1973

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
SUP fishing
« on: September 12, 2008, 11:25:49 AM »
I did a quick search before writing this and didn't find a whole but but here it is. I am completely new to this SUP thing. It looks AMAZING! I currently have a few kayaks and I use them all to fish from. I would love to add a SUP to the family for the same reason. Currently, I'm all about fly fishing but standing in my kayaks ain't all it's cracked up to be. I was just thinking...man it would be great to build a SUP to fly fish from. Sooooooo, who else here has fly fished from a SUP? I will continue to use the search button but if ya' got anything cool to share I am all ears. Oh yeah...this is my first post so I would like to say "what's up" to all the folk here!

Allan Cheateaux

• Sunset Status
  • Enhance you open ocean existence!
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - allancheateaux@yahoo.com
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: SUP fishing
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2008, 12:42:00 PM »
I built a board for a guy in Montana. We made it 10' x 34" x 5". He kills it on the rivers up there. He says he can see into  the pools way better and access them more quietly. Id go with something with a crusher amount of float to haul gear and yourself.

Shoe

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2008, 12:52:23 PM »
Hey,

My buddies and I have got pretty into fishing from our SUP boards here in San Diego.  I have found that my 12' Laird is more than stable enough to fish from.  It is great being able to spot feeding Yellowtail and cast into them while standing up although I usually drop to my knees after hooking up with a big fish (mostly to thank God).  You should check out the Boardfisher.com website - they have all of the stuff that you will need to get started.  The site also has some pictures from a Baja trip we took last Fall.  http://boardfisher.com/puntaloscabos.html

Cheers,

Dan