Author Topic: Race board rocker  (Read 13568 times)

bbqSUPer

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Race board rocker
« on: April 17, 2013, 03:32:38 AM »
I did a lot of searching and didn't find much on here or the Internet.

For those of you who make race boards, can you share some insight into rocker?  I may make a 14 board for mostly flatwater and protected bays.  Biggest water might be a foot if that.

About how much on the nose and tail?  A little more on the tail right?

Should it be continuous or have a flat spot?

If flat spot, where should it be and how long?

If continuous where should the apex (correct term?) of the arch be along the length of the board?

I plan on sinking the deck a decent amount and I weigh around 175 if that matters.

I'm a teacher so I have my summers off and can't just sit around doing nothing. Last summer I made a hollow wooden sup so I have a little experience.

Thanks!

DurhamSUP

Re: Race board rocker
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2013, 04:55:40 AM »
I'm assuming it's displacement and not planing....

About how much on the nose and tail?  A little more on the tail right?
1.5-1.75 nose, 2.5-3.0 tail

Should it be continuous or have a flat spot?
no flat spot

If flat spot, where should it be and how long? n/a

If continuous where should the apex (correct term?) of the arch be along the length of the board?
I like to have the wide point of my profile 12" back from center.
The apex of the rocker will match that so you will have a more gradual rocker in the nose.

I'm picking up some 14' foam next week and have some extra glass if your interested. Just shoot me a PM. Might be able to save you some travel and $. I'm not doing many boards at all this year with the new baby, so I'll have extra supplies.

TWsup

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 01:42:46 PM »
I did a laser sighting on my BArk 12-6 which is an excellent flat water board. nose has negative rocker. tail is about 50 mm.