Author Topic: BoardCAD flow/mass/volume lines  (Read 7533 times)

createinquiry

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
BoardCAD flow/mass/volume lines
« on: March 12, 2013, 07:24:41 PM »
I'm a very novice shaper (4th board) wanting to try my hand at a displacement board. I'm fooling with design ideas using boardCAD and wondering how to best utilize the volume and mass distribution curves. Having used AKU shaper in the past as a trial, I haven't had access to this information.

For no other reason than liking the appearance of the fly race, I'm drawing my ideas from the 12'6"/27.75 board. I'm in the middle of Tennessee, so I'll have nothing but flat water to paddle, unless I drive 8-11 hours.

I realize that my shaping ability will negate a number of these considerations. We have a EPS factory 30 minutes away so I can get 32"x16'X???" foam easily and cheap (~$75 per board). Paying for CNC services and shipping doesn't make sense.

Here are the ideas rolling around in my head:

1) Is the center of mass (red dot on outline) generally in front of the board's center? It makes some sense as the rider's mass behind this point would pull this point back, but I'd hate to be wrong and have a sweet spot for paddling too far forward to control comfortably.

2) Will this volume distribution cause the board to ride too high in the nose? Or by keeping rather sharp V near the nose, does this keep the majority of the volume above the waterline? (Perhaps there is a boardCAD function I haven't seen where you can show the volume distribution at a user placed/hypothetical waterline, rather than the entire board.)

3) I like the "tuck under" line as a reference and it makes sense to me that a displacement style hull will keep these lines towards the middle of the board at the nose. However, at the extreme rear of the board are there advantages to moving these lines back to the middle for release?