Author Topic: A better way to dry your wetsuit  (Read 6778 times)

GOTWAVZ

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
A better way to dry your wetsuit
« on: February 08, 2013, 09:22:01 AM »
So I'm an engineer and tend to over think things. I bought this Underwater Kenetics Wetsuit dryer with the wire hanging out of it, that plugs into 120Volt outlet. My wife got sick of seeing it out front every morning after i went to work with my wetsuit drying from it.  If you don't have one check it out, they work really well...but you need to plug them in.

http://www.uwkinetics.com/products/hangair-drying-system#.URUyn6WG6-I

So being the dork that I am, I didn't want to be restricted to hanging my suit where there was a plug and also the thing ran all night even after my suit was well dried, wasting energy and making noise. 

I checked the voltage and it just happens to work with a 14 Volt rechargeable drill motor battery. I had an older one laying around, put some alligator clips on it and now presto wamo....problem solved. I can hang it out back, in the shed, away from the garage doors up front and it basically dries and then runs out of battery. I take it off in the AM and put it back in the recharger.  Genius...not so much...but i thought i would share. We all hate getting into wet wetsuits.
HB, CA, Oahu, HI
JK 7'-8' x 28"x 4" = 99L
JK 7'-10" x 41/4" = 106 L
Joe Blair Gun 8-10" x 28 x 4 1/4
198 lbs - 5'-9"

colas

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
Re: A better way to dry your wetsuit
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 09:53:18 AM »
Yup, there are already threads on it
http://www.standupzone.com/forum/index.php?topic=10183.0
http://www.standupzone.com/forum/index.php?topic=13944.0

I replaced the ultra-noisy fan by a 120mm PC fan with a speed variator (this one: http://www.materiel.net/ventilateur-pc/silverstone-sst-fm121-20298.html ). Just unscrew the hangair and replace the fan by a PC fan, which is a bit thinner so you will have to use some padding.