Author Topic: wide point  (Read 9592 times)

footemaui

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
wide point
« on: August 21, 2007, 10:34:07 PM »
As a designer I would like some feed-back on wide points. Forward-Mid-Aft

Dooner

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Re: wide point
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 09:06:48 AM »
Hi,

I'm interested in that question too.

My current board is 9'8" x 28" with wide point at the middle & 17" tail & 16.5" nose. Rounded pin tail, quad fin. Rocker is about 6.2 nose & 2.8 tail, pretty flat mid-section with nose & tail kick.

This board performs really well in very small surf (head high & under), but feels a bit too hippy/parallel when it gets going faster. The narrow nose doesn't really seem to help much as far as I can tell, but this is my first SUP and the only board I have used much.

I'm going to push the widepoint up about 8" on my next one to try to narrow up the the back 1/3rd of the board. Something like 9'8" x 28.3" @ 8" forward, 16.4" tail & 18.7" nose.

The idea with this one is to have a fuller curve in the front/mid section & a narrower back section for more control on bigger waves.

I would love to hear other experiences & ideas about wide points and any other design parameters...

dooner

Rand

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 09:31:16 AM »
Hey Dooner,
Give us some idea about the thickness as well.  My first sub 10' board was 9'10, but only 4 thick, and 28.5 wide.  I assumed I needed around that width, but when I jumped to 4 1/8th, suddenly 27 was possible and comfortable.  Then the trick is keeping thin rails without losing too much of that volume, etc, etc.

boots

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2007, 12:15:31 PM »
As a designer I would like some feed-back on wide points. Forward-Mid-Aft