Author Topic: gary young's bamboo lamination art  (Read 6912 times)

shapeshifter

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
gary young's bamboo lamination art
« on: August 21, 2007, 06:24:32 PM »
as a self taught craftsman i have come to admire the work of gary young. i never met the man but i've been lucky to have developed a conversational friendship with him over the course of a few phone calls.

unknowingly i first became aware of his work while i was deeply enmeshed within skateboard manufacturing circles when a company out of australia started producing bamboo surfboards and skateboards. working in secret at the time, i had managed to develop techniques for reforming bamboo into hollow structures as it was meant to function in nature. so i gave the bamboo board makers a call to see if i could find some involvement with their venture. i went as far as contacting their taiwan counterpart (the wife of the australian manufacturer) and as luck would have it they weren't at all interested in my attempts to assist.

as it turns out these people had wooed gary overseas to glean as much as they could from his process and then proceeded to lock him out of the picture. over time this problem was resolved and the austalian/taiwanese company folded leaving gary only slightly jaded but not surprised. you see, since introducing his initial work of laminating veneer onto foam decades ago, others have followed his path without giving proper credit.