Author Topic: Best board for a guy my size...and affordable!  (Read 5318 times)

SupaSnydes

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Best board for a guy my size...and affordable!
« on: October 19, 2012, 09:36:14 PM »
I'm 6'1'' and about 260lbs.  Looking for an affordable board, but also the best board.  I will be using it mostly for calm lakes and cruising.  I've been looking around and I've been told 33" is what I should get for the width.  I have extremely wide shoulders and am top heavy, but also want to improve my balance so it doesn't need to be perfect.  Can't wait for some feedback, thanks!!!  :)

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Best board for a guy my size...and affordable!
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 11:04:09 PM »
That's awfully wide for cruising. I'm about the same size, and my racing and downwinding boards range from 26X12'2" to 27" X 16' and 26" X 14' and 28" X 19'  Even if you're a complete beginner you'll be very comfortable on anything in the 12' X 29" or 30" range. You might fall a bit at first, but it won't take long until you consider that size to be as stable as a dock.
Foote 10'4X34", SIC 17.5 V1 hollow and an EPS one in Hood River. Foote 9'0" x 31", L41 8'8", 18' Speedboard, etc. etc.

TallDude

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Capistrano Beach
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2012, 11:22:05 PM »
You're right Pono, 260# is awfully wide for cruising. Plugging away might work better? In jest, of course. I just had a friend about the same size and build try the open water for the first time. He's been doing fine in the harbor, but the ocean swell (which was fairly calm) was just too much for him. I know he can stand, his board is huge. Just time on the  water, and he'll be wanting a smaller board.
It's not overhead to me!
8'8" L-41 ST and a whole pile of boards I rarely use.

ObviousSup

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2012, 11:58:27 PM »