Author Topic: Windsurf or Kitesurf or both  (Read 13026 times)

flipperade

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Windsurf or Kitesurf or both
« on: June 29, 2008, 11:01:28 AM »
OK i used to be a hard core surfer for 32 years everything else was just whatever, then i started supping and i thought hey this is really fun, so tomorrow i have my first kite surf lesson and on tuesday my first windsurf lesson, Know a lot of u peeps esp the watermen/waterwomen do all sorts of water sports but PLEASE WITHOUT STARTING AN ARGUEMENT what are the pros and cons of kitesurfing and windsurfing?

Adrian (South Wales UK)

Russell

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Re: Windsurf or Kitesurf or both
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 11:55:59 AM »
Hi Adrian.

This one is hard for me but maybe it will help you to understand as I am new to S.U.P.

I have always tried anything that is new to me regarding the sea and taken it to a level where I have been able to teach the respective sport to those wishing to teach it.

I have a wonderful time now in learning S.U.P. From surf Kayak I can teach how to use the paddle, From surf I can teach surfing, but I must learn the elements in S.U.P. as knowing the two does not really help.

I too do not want to start an argument but you can not compare the two, they are totally different. I spent 3 years taking kite surfing to my maximum and gave up because I considered it to dangerous. But now I am back into it, as the kites have become much safer and more easy to use in surf orientated circumstances.

Windsurfing, I have been teaching for 30 years, of which 20 years teaching people how to teach it at all levels.

What ever you do on the sea. is about making the most of it. If you are lucky enough to be a water man you have more options, thats all.

One thing I know is you must learn a sport and take it as far as you can before you can judge it.