Author Topic: Ready for a more progressive surf style sup - Naish Hokua, Infinity, PSH  (Read 4132 times)

Acrane7

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
So I am fairly new to standup but have found out quickly why it is becoming more popular. I AM COMPLETELY ADDICTED! Since this new addiction has started my 9' Firewire Flexflight collects dust and my fish sees the water every now and then. In February I decided to make my first SUP purchase after ridind a few different boards and seeing if I really wanted to invest. I had mostly riden a  10'6" C4 Classic that was my roommates before making my decision. So after research, which was all done based on internet viewing, I decided to buy the 9'6" Naish Nalu with a Kialoa Methane paddle (stoked on both!!). Mostly the decision was made as it is shaped a lot like my Firewire Flexflight longboard. This was the greatest choice ever! It has a very high performance longboard shape, which I am used to. Its rail to rail is very fast, down the line speed is great, it nose rides very well, and you can drive it for speed like a shorter board. At first I struggled on this board because of the narrow outline and lower volume than the boards I had ridden. But I got used to it, and learned my board very quick (I am a persistent person). So with this little bit of background, I am turning to you more knowledgeable paddlers for some advice on buying a shorter more progressive board.

For reference I am 5'10" at 150-155lbs (70Kgs) and an intermediate surfer and paddler.

The boards I have narrowed it down to are a Naish 8'0" or 8'5" Hokua, PSH 8'6" Ripper or 8' Ripper Wide, or the Infinity 8'5" Team Label. I am leaning towards the Naish as the first board I bought has brought an insane amount of smiles and happiness to me. But the big issue is their new price they decided to jack the boards up to. The Nalu was bought because my local shop got a 2011 at a great discount and passed it on to me.