Author Topic: CNC for SUPs  (Read 8060 times)

JonnyKustoms

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
CNC for SUPs
« on: February 27, 2012, 05:45:02 PM »
1) Any shapers out there use a CNC machine to profile your boards? if yes, where and likes and dislikes of the software/machine. 

2) If you would change things what would it be and why?

3) Any hand shapers out there willing to try cnc machines? if so, what would you expect to pay for milling your boards?

I'm looking for milling my (pre-shapes) boards locally on Oahu and needing information

mahalo all!

TallDude

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Capistrano Beach
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CNC for SUPs
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 07:33:22 PM »
I am no expert for sure, but I asked a lot of questions before I had my first board CNC'd. I designed my unlimited race board in 3D AutoCAD. AutoCAD is a monster compared with Shape 3D and Aku Shaper. I just used it because I already paid thousands for it, and use it for my work. Most CNC machines will cut a .DXF file, which is a standard output file for AutoCAD. Both Shape 3D and Aku have their own proprietary file types. The software is designed to work directly with their own shaping machines. Most CNC machines will work with a .DXF file as well. There is conversion software available with most packages. About the machines, some have router heads, some have wheel heads. The newer machines leave almost no lines, where the older ones leave some deep groves that require a lot of hand sanding afterwards. The machines require a lot of maintenance to keep them working properly so they don't clog and cut crappy. It's a full time job to just keep some of them running. Then learning not to confuse the machine with to many cross sections. A guy I know who does it for a living, uses Shape 3D. He saw a few of my files and said I need try to get it to as few of sections as possible to get a very clean result. To many sections can cause weird dips and bumps out of nowhere. Anyway, ke