Author Topic: Kite & SUP Distance Day Inlander  (Read 9566 times)

steepcreeks

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Kite & SUP Distance Day Inlander
« on: November 19, 2011, 05:54:34 AM »
I'm firstly a whitewater SUPr, secondly long distance.  Kites are my next venture, I posted a little info about what I've been up to.  Anyone else explored this area? 
Link to Wordpress Blog:
http://benfriberg.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/kite-sup-distance/
http://wp.me/p1XKd9-L

freetobeme

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
Re: Kite & SUP Distance Day Inlander
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2011, 07:44:47 AM »
hey steep, thanks for link to your blog.  such great info.  i have been tinkering with doing some kiting off my sup here on the Cape.  my board has the mast track for windsurf but kiting def intrigues me too.

i am a total novice with kites so thanks for sharing your experences!
"Everything you want is on the other side of fear" - George Addair

CoreVac Cannibal BOMB 8'8

JimK

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Big Guys can have fun too!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 09:55:43 AM »
We have been using kites on SUP's for YEARS (Since we sell/teach/fix Kitesurfing equipment for over 10 years)

First GO with an inflatable kite "dunking" a ram air is inevitable. For distance just "stash" your pump under a bungee attachment. This can hold your paddle while you kite

Board wise 10 to 11FT work best smaller tend to bog. Longer distance boards are not set up to take the torque (losing up wind ability) A 2 = 1 setup with a bigger rear fin seem to do the trick. The only issue we have experienced is mfg'ers who are not WS mfg have to weak of a rear fin anchor, and they break. Naish, fanatic seem to hold up to the torque of the kite

Lastly...and most importantly (IMHO) TAKE SOME KITE LESSONS BEFORE you go out with a kite. Things happen (to the improperly trained) real fast.

If you have more questions feel free to PM me here

JimK
www.extremewindsurfing.com