Author Topic: board length vs wave size  (Read 7962 times)

beached

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
board length vs wave size
« on: October 06, 2011, 05:25:11 AM »
i'm a newbie to the sport of surfing w/SUP (and have never 'plank' surfed either), and really have no clue about which SUP boards i should use in different wave conditions. i've read thru this forum a bit on the topic, but cannot seem to get the info i'm looking for.

i've read that longer boards are best for small waves...and for bigger waves. hmmm. my 2 boards are 11'6" and 10'. for many those might both be long boards..for me one is long, the other not so much. in my typical conditions, small waves are ankle-waist, medium waves are waist-chest, big waves are head+. not sure if my size is relevant, but i'm 6'3", 210 lbs.

so can anyone tell me if there is a standard answer on what board is best for which type of waves? thanks.

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: board length vs wave size
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2011, 06:25:27 AM »
I like bigger boards on big waves, mostly because you can get them moving down the face a lot sooner. Shorter boards require a more critical face to get planing. I love big waves, but I don't like wobbling around in front of them and I REALLY hate missing one, because then you're twenty feet further in and the next one is  feathering fifty feet further out.

On the other hand, if you don't know the answer to that question you might not want to be in anything bigger than waist-high. I'm not being mean, if you can't do a bottom turn and a top turn, trim the board down the face, turn out without falling, and catch waves reliably, then you should stay in smaller stuff until you can.
Foote 10'4X34", SIC 17.5 V1 hollow and an EPS one in Hood River. Foote 9'0" x 31", L41 8'8", 18' Speedboard, etc. etc.

Menlo SUPr

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2011, 06:58:27 AM »