Author Topic: Air expansion / delamination / whats the reason???  (Read 6297 times)

willi

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Air expansion / delamination / whats the reason???
« on: July 30, 2011, 06:39:33 PM »
I am a beginning builder of SUP boards in Florida --Yes, it is hot, and the sun unmerciful.
I have had two boards delam under the deck pad. Big bubbles - the epoxy & glass just pulled right off the EPS --wow --I thought what is goin on --yes, it was my fault I left them in the sun for a bit--(board color left natural)-BUT
 as I contacted two folks in the EPS foam industry to talk about going to 2 lb instead of 1.5 --figuring there would be less air in the foam to explode.
But, was told the air is encapsulated into the foam and there should be no expansion of the air in the foam. Two seperate experts -- two seperate conversations. Hmmm?
COULD it be the deck mat? I had a darker blue-ish / white / etc on the boards -- at my shop I put the deck mat out in the sun and man did it get hot -- but the deck mat also expanded
(I measured it before and after the sun teatment ) The mat is EVA foam 1/4 inch thick adhered with contact cement. No grooves in it.
The second board that blew up --I had sealed the EPS with two coats of epoxy (makes for a nice working surface) so there was good adhesion on the second one.
OK mates, lets hear about it because I am stumped --As I just wrote in the Certification blog -knowledge is power. I am listening.

finsider

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Air expansion / delamination / whats the reason???
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 07:27:06 PM »