Author Topic: Fanatic Fly 11' x 32" & Fanatic Fly Allround 11'6 x 33"  (Read 8806 times)

Cam S

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Fanatic Fly 11' x 32" & Fanatic Fly Allround 11'6 x 33"
« on: March 02, 2011, 05:04:35 AM »
Hi from Down Under.

I am new to SUP and researching my first board purchase. After doing this and a few demo opportunities, I have a short list [which did change many times along the way]... I am 6'3", approx 108/110kgs. The board is for flat water paddling [freshwater and ocean] and small waves. A board for fun, that may see a little fishing too. A keeper and not something to turn over in the short term. A more dedicated wave board and a long board for down wind can come a little later, once I have some SUP time up and know what I direction I wish to take.

Recently I heard about the Fanatic Fly 11' x 32"  &  Fanatic Fly Allround 11'6 x 33"... They have my curiosity and I searched for what I could find. Which turned out to be not much. There is a retailer here who handles Fanatic SUP, but doesn't carry the 11' or 11'6" on hand. [I'm not sure if the 11'6" is released here yet and I could be jumping the gun there?] Tho will order them in for a purchaser. So a demo isn't possible or even a look... I have a good amount of info on my short list of boards and am interested to hear any experiences and views on the Fanatic 11'x32"  and Fanatic 11'6" x 33"?

Another query, which is a little broad and general - Does Salt water vs Fresh water Buoyancy have a noticeable affect on a SUP Board? I ask as a board I tried floated me passably ok in Salt water. I asked the owner how he thought it may be in Fresh water for me if I took the dog with me for a paddle and he thought maybe borderline/submarine... So it had me thinking further.

cheers,

Cam...

Water Monkey

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatic Fly 11' x 32" & Fanatic Fly Allround 11'6 x 33"
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2011, 06:24:59 AM »