Author Topic: Need advice on coming out of a wave  (Read 4364 times)

adidasonmyfeat

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Need advice on coming out of a wave
« on: January 17, 2011, 05:06:13 PM »
so.....I am finally catching waves and riding them and havin alot of fun but when I get to the end of the ride or the wave begins to break I want to do that thing where you turn the board up and over and head away from the beach.  Cant seem to make the board turn without falling off or I just bail.

AJR

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
Re: Need advice on coming out of a wave
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 05:57:58 PM »
First off I am not an expert by any means on this; I still struggle with this myself.  What I'm seeing (when I pull it off) is that when I step back on the tail as far as I can to engage the fins and look where I want to go it seems to work pretty well...  It's also much easier when I'm surfing front side (to the right since I'm regular foot) but the same concept applies when I surf backside...

Kendog

• Waikiki Status
  • Paddle Surfing the Northwest
    • View Profile
    • www.awesomesurfvideos.com
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 06:12:17 PM »
This move is called a "kick-out" or "kicking out". AJR is correct about being back on the tail, it really helps. You will want to be using you paddle not only to pivot the board but stay balanced after the momentum change on this one. Once you slow down the board becomes less stable so you will want to bend your knees to lower your center of gravity. Also dip the blade of the paddle in to the water, the resistance will often times allow you to recover as you glide out the back of the wave.    
Kendog

adidasonmyfeat

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 07:03:14 PM »
Thanks, I'm going to start practicing.

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 07:40:01 PM »